Spotify Is Rolling Out 36 New Languages on Mobile

During last month’s Stream On event, Spotify shared some big news: our plan to expand to 80+ new markets. But that’s not all. We also announced that the service would soon become available in 36 new languages, bringing the platform total to 62 languages. This update, which will make Spotify more accessible for speakers of these additional languages worldwide, goes hand in hand with our commitment to building a truly borderless audio ecosystem.

The new languages are already available on the web platform, and today they will begin to roll out on the mobile app. The expansion brings the following to Spotify: Afrikaans, Amharic, Azerbaijani, Bengali, Bhojpuri, Bulgarian, Simplified Chinese, Croatian, Danish, Estonian, Filipino, Gujarati, Hindi, Icelandic, Kannada, Latvian, Lithuanian, Malayalam, Marathi, Nepali, Norwegian, Odia, Persian, Portuguese for Portugal, Eastern Punjabi, Western Punjabi, Romanian, Serbian, Slovak, Slovenian, Swahili, Tamil, Telugu, Ukrainian, Urdu, and Zulu.

These market and language expansions allow us to engage with more listeners, in more places, in more languages. By reaching more people, we are giving millions of new creators the opportunity to build a career, while connecting existing creators with new audiences.